U.S. Rep. Steve King introduced the National Right To Work Act
U.S. Rep. Steve King (R-Iowa) and 76 original House cosponsors introduced National Right to Work Act, or H.R.612,that simply bars the firing of employees for refusal to pay union dues or fees.
The Right To Work States’ Timeline
Which state was the first Right To Work state?  When did Florida become a Right To Work state?  How many states become Right To Work states in 1947?  In 2012?


2013 Right To Work States Map

Click on image to enlarge


State Right To Work Timeline**


Arkansas Tuesday, November 07, 1944 By Constitution
Florida Tuesday, November 07, 1944 By Constitution
Arizona Tuesday, November 05, 1946 By Constitution
Nebraska Wednesday, December 11, 1946 By Constitution
Virginia Sunday, January 12, 1947 By Statute
Tennessee Friday, February 21, 1947 By Statute
North Carolina Tuesday, March 18, 1947 By Statute
Georgia Thursday, March 27, 1947 By Statute
Iowa Monday, April 28, 1947 By Statute
South Dakota Tuesday, July 01, 1947 By Constitution
Texas Friday, September 05, 1947 By Statute
North Dakota Tuesday, June 29, 1948 By Statute
Nevada Thursday, December 04, 1952 By Statute
Alabama Friday, August 28, 1953 By Statute
Mississippi* Wednesday, February 24, 1954 By Statute
South Carolina Friday, March 19, 1954 By Statute
Utah Tuesday, May 10, 1955 By Statute
Kansas Tuesday, November 04, 1958 By Constitution
Mississippi* Tuesday, June 07, 1960 By Constitution
Wyoming Friday, February 08, 1963 By Statute
Louisiana Friday, July 09, 1976 By Statute
Idaho Thursday, January 31, 1985 By Statute
Oklahoma Sunday, September 02, 2001 By Constitution
Indiana  Wednesday, March 14, 2012*** By Statute
Michigan Thursday, March 28, 2013*** By Statute

*Mississippi first passed a statute then a constitutional amendment
**including hyperlinks to state Right To Work laws ***Effective Date