NRTW Attorney to speak at NLRB public meeting on new Ambush elections rules

 From the Education & Workforce Committee’s press release on its hearing regarding the NLRB’s proposed Ambush Elections :

Restricting an employer’s right to communicate with his or her employees will undermine a worker’s ability to make a fully informed decision in a union election. Larry Getts, an employee at a small auto parts packing and shipping company in Indiana, explained the consequences facing employees if the NLRB’s propsal goes into effect.

“In reality,” said Getts, “under these rules, the additional burden on already busy workers will prohibit them from making an informed decision — especially where there is an absence of information from employers, as was the case in my experience. These rule changes are aimed at furthering the interests of Big Labor at the expense of workers’ ability to make a fully informed decision on an important matter. They are intended only to make it easier for union officials to harass and force workers like myself into joining their union, into paying dues and increasing the union bosses’ power.”

 Schedule of speakers for July 19 public meeting on NLRB proposed election rule changes (NLRB link to watch open meeting):

Tuesday, July 19 Morning Session (9:00 am – 12 noon)

  1. Faith Clark/Phil Ornot, United Steelworkers
  2. G. Roger King, Jones Day o/b/o Society for Human Resource Management
  3. Paul F. Clark, Dept. of Labor Studies and Employment Relations, Penn State University
  4. Elizabeth Milito/John Raudabaugh, Nixon Peabody o/b/o National Federation of Independent Business
  5. Christopher N. Grant, Schuchat, Cook & Werner
  6. Patrick J. O’Neill, United Food and Commercial Workers International Union
  7. Maurice Baskin, Associated Builders and Contractors, Inc.
  8. Gabrielle Semel, Communications Workers of America Legal Department
  9. Brian Brennan, IBEW
  10. Harold R. Weinrich, Jackson Lewis LLP
  11. Elizabeth Bunn, AFL-CIO
  12. Kimberly Freeman Brown, American Rights at Work
  13. Francis T. “Tom” Coleman, Printing Industries of America
  14. Sarita Gupta, National Jobs With Justice
  15. C. Stephen Jones, Jr., Chandler Concrete Co., Inc.
  16. Professor Dorian Warren, Columbia University

Tuesday, July 19 Afternoon Session (1:00 pm – 4:00 pm)

  1. Lexer Quamie, The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
  2. Steve Maritas, International Union, Security, Police and Fire Professionals of America SPFPA
  3. William Messenger, National Right to Work Legal Defense Foundation
  4. Joseph L. Paller Jr., Gilbert & Sackman
  5. Russ Brown, Labor Relations Institute
  6. Dr. Dean Baker, Center for Economic and Policy Research
  7. Yona Rozen, Gillespie, Rosen & Watsky PC
  8. R. Brian Bixby/Karla Kozak, TWU International
  9. Jay P. Krupin, Epstein Becker Green o/b/o National Grocers Association
  10. David Madland, Center for American Progress Action Fund
  11. Michael E. Avakian, The Center on National Labor Policy Inc.
  12. Peter J. Leff, Graphic Communications Conference of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters
  13. Professor Kate Bronfenbrenner, Cornell School of Industrial and Labor Relations