FAQ – What is 14(b)?

Section 14(b) of the federal Taft-Hartley Act grants every state and U.S. Territory the ability to enact Right to Work laws prohibiting compulsory union membership dues and “fees” as a condition of employment.

The 1935 National Labor Relations Act (NLRA) authorized closed shops and forced union dues.

But, it (NLRA) was amended in 1947 by Section 14(b) of the Taft-Hartley Act, which allows states to protect their citizens and opt out of the abusive federal forced-unionism policy.

Other Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What is the Right to Work principle?

What is a Right to Work law?

Is National Right to Work Committee “anti-union” or “pro-union”?

What is “exclusive representation”?

What do union propagandists mean by the term “free rider”?

What effect does a Right to Work law have on a state’s standard of living?

What is the “Freedom from Union Violence Act”?

What is the National Right to Work Act?